

Director nominees 2020



- · Chair of the Board
- Chair and member since 2008
- Chair of the Nomination and Governance Committee
- Independent of the company and significant shareholders
- Born 1952, Finnish citizen
- Ph.D. (Econ.)
- UPM shares 265,194

President and CEO of Sampo plc 2001–2009. Chair of the Board of Mandatum Bank plc 1998–2000, CEO and Vice Chair of the Board of Mandatum & Co Ltd 1992–1997. Executive Vice President and member of the Executive Committee of the Union Bank of Finland 1989–1992.

Chair of the Board of Sampo plc. Board member of the Finnish Business and Policy Forum EVA and the Research Institute of the Finnish Economy ETLA. Board member of Mannerheim Foundation.



- Deputy Chair of the Board
- Member since 2002, Deputy Chair since 2005
- Member of the Nomination
- and Governance Committee
- Independent of the company and significant shareholders
- Born 1950, Finnish citizen
- · B.Sc. (Econ.)
- UPM shares 312,533

President and CEO of Oy Karl Fazer Ab 2002–2007. President and CEO of Sanitec Corporation 2000–2002. Prior to this, over 20 years of experience in executive positions at Finnpap and UPM Group.

Chair of the Board of Oy Karl Fazer Ab. Board member of Hartwall Capital Oy Ab.



- Member since 2015
- Member of the Remuneration Committee
- Independent of the company and significant shareholders
- Born 1969, Finnish citizen
- M.Sc. (Econ.)
- UPM shares 9,506

President and CEO of KONE Corporation since 2014 and KONE Corporation's Chief Financial Officer and Executive Board member 2009–2014. Earlier worked for Goldman Sachs International 1998–2009, most recently as a Managing Director in the Investment Banking Division. Prior to this, various positions at UBS Limited 1994–1998.

Member of the Foundation Board of the International Institute for Management Development (IMD, Switzerland) and member of the European Round Table for Industry (ERT).



- New director nominee
- Independent of the company and significant shareholders
- Born 1967, UK citizen
- MBA, D.Phil., MA (Surface Chemistry / Solid-state Physics)
- UPM shares –

CEO and Executive Director of Puma Energy Ltd. since 2019. Executive Director leading water & waste services businesses and member of the Board of Severn Trent plc 2015–2018. CEO of Gas Distribution Networks of the UK National Grid 2013–2015. Vice President, Global Retail (petrol stations) Network, Shell International Ltd 2010–2013. Vice President, Downstream Strategy and Consultancy, Shell International Ltd 2007–2010. Managing Director, Shell China / Hong Kong 2004–2007 and Shell Gas Ltd. 2001–2004. Earlier, employed by Shell International Ltd in global R&D, sales and marketing roles since 1992.

Advisor to Prime Minister's Office, Singapore Government Public Service Division. Member of Oxford Sciences Innovation Advisory Board.



- Member since 2013
- Chair of the Audit Committee
- Independent of the company and significant shareholders
- Born 1975, Finnish citizen
- LL.M.
- UPM shares 19,391

Managing Director of Finance Finland (FFI) since 2009. Member of the European Parliament and member of various parliamentary committees 1999–2008, Head of the Finnish Delegation in the EPP-ED Group 2004–2008. Legal advisor for the Parliamentary Group of the National Coalition Party Kokoomus 1997–1999.

Chair of the Board of the SOS-Children's Villages Foundation. Board member of the Finnish Financial Ombudsman Bureau. Member of the Supervisory Board of Helsinki Deaconess Institute and Helsinki School of Economics Support Foundation. Member of the EBF Executive Committee.





- Member since 2018
- Member of the Audit Committee
- Independent of the company and significant shareholders
- Born 1958, Dutch citizen
- LL.M., MBA
- UPM shares 3,155

President of the Executive Board of Utrecht University 2013–2017. Executive Committee member of AkzoNobel NV, responsible for HR and organisational development 2011–2013. Executive Director of Strip Products Division and Executive Committee member in Tata Steel Europe (previously Corus Group Plc.) 2007–2010. Managing Director positions in Corus Group Plc. 2000–2007, latest Executive Director responsible for Corus Strip Products business and CEO of Corus Nederland BV. Various positions in Hoogovens Group NV 1982–1999, latest Managing Director of Hoogovens Packaging Steel business.

Board member of SHV Holdings NV, Solvay SA, Aalberts Industries NV and Novolipetsk Steel PJSC. Supervisory Board member of Het Rijksmuseum.



- New director nominee
- Independent of the company and significant shareholders
- Born 1970, Swiss citizen
- M.Sc. (Eng.)
- UPM shares 4,200

President and CEO of Pöyry Plc. 2015–2019 and EVP of Management Consulting Division until October 2019. CEO of Siemens Building Technologies Division Europe 2012–2015. CEO of Siemens WLL in Qatar 2010–2012. Senior Vice President, Fire Safety Solutions and Service and Head of Area Management Fire Safety, Siemens Building Technologies International 2005–2010. Vice President, Area Manager for Siemens Fire Safety in Hong Kong and China 2003–2004. Manager, Strategy and M&A Department, Siemens Building Technologies Ltd. 2001–2003. Managing Director & Co-owner of Wetellyou.com AG, an internet start-up in Switzerland and the US 2000–2001. Head of Engineering Section and project manager, Electrowatt Engineering Ltd., 1996–2000.



- Member since 2014
- Member of the Nomination and Governance Committee
- Independent of the company and significant shareholders
- Born 1951, Finnish citizen
- General Staff Officer, General (ret.)
- UPM shares 11,531

Commander of the Finnish Defence Forces 2009–2014. Chief of Finnish Defence Command 2007–2009 and Commander of the Eastern Command 2004–2007. Deputy Chief of Operations of the Finnish Defence Staff 2000–2003 and Brigade Commander 1999–2000. Principal Secretary of the Defence Council 1997–1999. Assistant Defence Attaché in Moscow 1986–1990.

Board member of Patria Plc.



- Member since 2007
- Chair of the Remuneration Committee
- Independent of the company and significant shareholders
- Born 1957, Finnish citizen
- eMBA
- UPM shares 44,327

President of ABB Region Europe during 2015 and member of the Group Executive Committee of ABB Ltd 2006–2015. President of ABB Process Automation Division 2006–2014 and Business Area Manager for ABB Process Automation 2005. Automation Technologies Division Manager in ABB China 2003–2004. ABB Drives & Power Electronics, Business Area Manager 2002 and Manager for ABB Drives 1996–2001. CFO of ABB Industry Oy 1994–1996. Prior to 1994, various positions in paper and packaging companies in Finland.

Chair of the Board of Cramo Plc and Board member of Fortum Corporation.



- Member since 2012
- Member of the Audit Committee
- Independent of the company and significant shareholders
- Born 1960, Norwegian citizen
- MBA (Harvard)
- BA (Business Econ.)
- UPM shares 21,305

Chair of the Board of Strømstangen AS since 2009. Deputy Chair and Cofounder of the European private equity firm IK Investment Partners 1989–2009. Associate, Corporate Finance, Goldman, Sachs & Co. 1987–1989.

Board member of DNB Bank ASA. Chair of the Board of Voxtra AS and Voxtra Foundation.