

# Biographical details of UPM director nominees



## Björn Wahlroos

Chairman Chairman and member since 2008 Chairman of the Nomination and Governance Committee Independent of the company and significant shareholders

Born 1952, Finnish citizen Ph.D. (Econ.) UPM shares 259,744

President and CEO of Sampo plc 2001–2009. Chairman of the Board of Mandatum Bank plc 1998–2000, CEO and Vice Chairman of the Board of Mandatum & Co Ltd 1992–1997. Member of the Executive Committee and Executive Vice President of the Union Bank of Finland 1985–1992.

Chairman of the Board of Sampo plc, Nordea Bank AB (publ) and Hanken School of Economics.



## Berndt Brunow

Deputy Chairman Member since 2002, Deputy Chairman since 2005 Member of the Nomination and Governance Committee Independent of the company and significant shareholders

Born 1950, Finnish citizen B.Sc. (Econ.) UPM shares 308,661

President and CEO of Oy Karl Fazer Ab 2002–2007. President and CEO of Sanitec Corporation 2000–2002. Prior to this, over 20 years of experience in executive positions at Finnpap and UPM-Kymmene Corporation.

Chairman of the Board of Lemminkäinen Corporation until 31 January 2018. Deputy Chairman of the Board of YIT Corporation from 1 February until 16 March 2018. Chairman of the Board of Karl Fazer Ab. Board member of Hartwall Capital Oy Ab.





## Henrik Ehrnrooth

Member since 2015 Member of the Remuneration Committee Independent of the company and significant shareholders

Born 1969, Finnish citizen M.Sc. (Econ.) UPM shares 6,351

President and CEO of KONE Corporation since 2014 and KONE Corporation's Chief Financial Officer and Executive Board member 2009–2014. Earlier worked for Goldman Sachs International 1998–2009, most recently as a Managing Director in the Investment Banking Division. Prior to this, various positions at UBS Limited 1994–1998.

Member of the Foundation Board of the International Institute for Management Development (IMD, Switzerland) and member of the European Round Table of Industrialists (ERT).



## Piia-Noora Kauppi

Member since 2013 Chairman of the Audit Committee Independent of the company and significant shareholders

Born 1975, Finnish citizen LL.M.

UPM shares 16,236

Managing Director of Finance Finland (FFI) since 2009. Member of the European Parliament and member of various parliamentary committees 1999–2008, Head of the Finnish Delegation in the EPP-ED Group 2004–2008. Legal advisor for the Parliamentary Group of the National Coalition Party Kokoomus 1997–1999.

Board member of Sulava Oy and the Finnish Financial Ombudsman Bureau. Member of the Supervisory Board of Helsinki Deaconess Institute and Helsinki School of Economics Support Foundation. Member of the EBF Executive Committee.





#### Jussi Pesonen

Member since 2007 Independent of significant shareholders, non-independent of the company

Born 1960, Finnish citizen M.Sc. (Eng.) UPM shares 353,491

President and CEO of UPM-Kymmene Corporation since 2004. COO of the Paper Divisions and Deputy to the President and CEO 2001–2004. Several management positions in UPM Paper Divisions 1987–2001.

Chairman of the Board of the Finland Chamber of Commerce and ICC Finland. Deputy Chairman of the Board of the Finnish Forest Industries Federation (FFIF). Board member of the Confederation of European Paper Industries (CEPI) and East Office of Finnish Industries Oy.



## Ari Puheloinen

Member since 2014 Member of the Nomination and Governance Committee Independent of the company and significant shareholders

Born 1951, Finnish citizen General Staff Officer, General (ret.) UPM shares 8,376

Commander of the Finnish Defence Forces 2009–2014. Chief of Finnish Defence Command 2007–2009 and Commander of the Eastern Command 2004–2007. Deputy Chief of Operations of the Finnish Defence Staff 2000–2003 and Brigade Commander 1999–2000. Principal Secretary of the Defence Council 1997–1999. Assistant Defence Attaché in Moscow 1986–1990.

Board member of Patria Plc and the Association for the New Children's Hospital 2017.





#### Veli-Matti Reinikkala

Member since 2007 Chairman of the Remuneration Committee Independent of the company and significant shareholders

Born 1957, Finnish citizen eMBA UPM shares 41,172

President of ABB Region Europe during 2015 and member of the Group Executive Committee of ABB Ltd 2006–2015. President of ABB Process Automation Division 2006–2014 and Business Area Manager for ABB Process Automation 2005. Automation Technologies Division Manager in ABB China 2003–2004. ABB Drives & Power Electronics, Business Area Manager 2002 and Manager for ABB Drives 1996–2001. CFO of ABB Industry Oy 1994–1996. Prior to 1994, various positions in paper and packaging companies in Finland.

Chairman of the Board of Cramo Plc and Board member of Fortum Corporation.



#### Suzanne Thoma

Member since 2015 Member of the Remuneration Committee Independent of the company and significant shareholders

Born 1962, Swiss citizen Ph.D. (Chem. Eng.) BA (Business Admin.) UPM shares 6,351

Chief Executive Officer of BKW Ltd. since 2013. Head of BKW Group's Networks Business Unit 2010–2012. Head of WICOR Group's Automotive Division 2007–2009. Chief Executive Officer of Rolic Technologies Ltd 2002–2007. Various positions at Ciba Specialty Chemicals Corp. (former Ciba-Geigy) 1990–2002.

Board member of Schaffner Holding AG and Beckers Group.





## Kim Wahl

Member since 2012 Member of the Audit Committee Independent of the company and significant shareholders

Born 1960, Norwegian citizen MBA (Harvard) BA (Business Econ.) UPM shares 18,150

Chairman of the Board of Strømstangen AS since 2009. Deputy Chairman and Cofounder of the European private equity firm IK Investment Partners 1989–2009. Associate, Corporate Finance, Goldman, Sachs & Co. 1987–1989.

Board member of DNB Bank ASA and Intermediate Capital Group plc. Chairman of the Board of Voxtra AS and Voxtra Foundation.



#### Marjan Oudeman

New director nominee Independent of the company and significant shareholders

Born 1958, Dutch citizen LL.M. MBA

President of the Executive Board of Utrecht University 2013-2017. Executive Committee member of AkzoNobel NV, responsible for HR and organisational development 2011-2013. Executive Director of Strip Products Division and Executive Committee member in Tata Steel Europe (previously Corus Group Plc.) 2007-2010. Managing Director positions in Corus Group Plc. 2000-2007, latest CEO of Corus Nederland BV responsible for Corus Strip Products business. Various positions in Hoogovens Group NV 1982-1999, latest Managing Director of Hoogovens Packaging Steel business.

Board member of Statoil ASA, SHV Holdings NV, Solvay SA and Aalberts Industries NV. Supervisory Board member of Concertgebouw NV and Het Rijksmuseum.