

## Biographical details of director nominees



Björn Wahlroos

Chairman and member since 2008 Chairman of the Nomination and Governance Committee Independent of the Company and significant shareholders

Born 1952, Finnish citizen Ph.D. (Econ.)

President and CEO of Sampo plc 2001–2009. Chairman of the Board of Mandatum Bank plc 1998–2000, CEO and Vice Chairman of the Board of Mandatum & Co Ltd 1992–1997. Member of the Executive Committee and Executive Vice President of the Union Bank of Finland 1985–1992.

Chairman of the Board of Sampo plc, Nordea Bank AB (publ) and Hanken School of Economics.



**Berndt Brunow** 

Deputy Chairman Member since 2002, Deputy Chairman since 2005 Chairman of the Remuneration Committee Independent of the Company and significant shareholders

Born 1950, Finnish citizen B.Sc. (Econ.)

President and CEO of Oy Karl Fazer Ab 2002–2007. President and CEO of Sanitec Corporation 2000–2002. Over 20 years of experience in executive positions at Finnpap and UPM-Kymmene Corporation.

Chairman of the Board of Lemminkäinen Corporation, Oy Karl Fazer Ab and Mutual Pension Insurance Company Varma. Board member of Hartwall Capital Oy Ab and East Office of Finnish Industries Oy.



Piia-Noora Kauppi

Member since 2013 Chairman of the Audit Committee Independent of the Company and significant shareholders

Born 1975, Finnish citizen LL.M.

Managing Director of Federation of Finnish Financial Services since 2009. Member of the European Parliament and member of various parliamentary committees 1999–2008, Head of the Finnish Delegation in the EPP-ED Group 2004–2008. Legal advisor for the Parliamentary Group of the National Coalition Party Kokoomus 1997–1999.

Board member of Sulava Oy and the Finnish Financial Ombudsman Bureau. Member of the Supervisory Board of Helsinki Deaconess Institute and HSE Foundation. Chairman of the Executive Committee of European Banking Federation.



Wendy E. Lane

Member since 2005 Member of the Audit Committee Independent of the Company and significant shareholders

Born 1951, US citizen MBA (Harvard)

Chairman of the Board of Lane Holdings, Inc. since 1992. Managing Director and Principal at Donaldson, Lufkin & Jenrette Securities Corp. 1981–1992. Banking Associate at Goldman, Sachs & Co. 1977–1980.

Board member of Willis Group Holdings PLC and Al-Dabbagh Group Holding Company Limited.



Jussi Pesonen

Member since 2007 Independent of significant shareholders, non-independent of the Company

Born 1960, Finnish citizen M.Sc. (Eng.)

President and CEO of UPM-Kymmene Corporation since 2004. COO of the Paper Divisions and Deputy to the President and CEO 2001–2004. Several management positions in UPM Paper Divisions 1987–2001.

Chairman of the Board of Ilmarinen Mutual Pension Insurance Company and the Finnish Forest Industries Federation (FFIF). Co-Chairman of the Forest Solutions Group (FSG) in World Business Council for Sustainable Development (WBCSD). Board member of the Confederation of European Paper Industries (CEPI) and East Office of Finnish Industries Oy.



**Ari Puheloinen** 

Member since 2014

Member of the Nomination and Governance Committee

Independent of the Company and significant shareholders

Born 1951, Finnish citizen General Staff Officer, General (ret.)

Commander of the Finnish Defence Forces 2009–2014. Chief of Finnish Defence Command 2007–2009 and Commander of the Eastern Command 2004–2007. Deputy Chief of Operations of the Finnish Defence Staff 2000–2003 and Brigade Commander 1999–2000. Principal Secretary of the Defence Council 1997–1999. Assistant Defence Attaché in Moscow 1986–1990.

Board member of the Association for the New Children's Hospital 2017.



Veli-Matti Reinikkala

Member since 2007 Member of the Remuneration Committee Independent of the Company and significant shareholders

Born 1957, Finnish citizen eMBA

President of ABB Region Europe since 2015 and member of the Group Executive Committee of ABB Ltd since 2006. President of ABB Process Automation Division 2006–2014. Business Area Manager for ABB Process Automation 2005. Automation Technologies Division Manager in ABB China 2003–2004. Manager for ABB Drives 1997–2002. CFO of ABB Industry Oy 1994–1996. Before 1994, various positions in paper and packaging companies in Finland.



Kim Wahl

Member since 2012 Member of the Audit Committee Independent of the Company and significant shareholders

Born 1960, Norwegian citizen MBA (Harvard) BA, Business Economics (San Diego)

Chairman of the Board of Strømstangen AS since 2009. Deputy Chairman and Cofounder of the European private equity firm IK Investment Partners 1989–2009. Associate, Corporate Finance, Goldman, Sachs & Co. 1987–1989.

Board member of DNB Bank ASA and Intermediate Capital Group plc. Chairman of Voxtra AS and Voxtra Foundation. Adjunct Professor at INSEAD business school.



Henrik Ehrnrooth

New director nominee Independent of the Company and significant shareholders

Born 1969, Finnish citizen M.Sc. (Econ.)

President and CEO of KONE Corporation since April 2014. Chief Financial Officer of KONE Corporation 2009–2014. Earlier worked at Goldman Sachs International 1998–2009, most recently as a Managing Director in the Investment Banking Division. Prior to that, various positions at UBS Limited 1994–1998.

Member of the Foundation Board of the International Institute for Management Development (IMD, Switzerland).



Suzanne Thoma

New director nominee Independent of the Company and significant shareholders

Born 1962, Swiss citizen
Ph.D. (Chemical Engineering), BA (Business Administration)

Chief Executive Officer of BKW Ltd. since 2013. Head of BKW Group's Networks Business Unit 2010–2012. Head of WICOR Group's Automotive Division 2007–2009. Chief Executive Officer of Rolic Technologies Ltd 2002–2007. Prior to that, various positions at Ciba Specialty Chemicals Corp. (former Ciba-Geigy) 1990–2002.

Board member of Schaffner Holding AG and Beckers Group.