

Biographical details of director nominees



Björn Wahlroos

Chairman Member and Chairman since 2008 Chairman of the Nomination and Governance Committee Independent of the Company and significant shareholders

Born 1952 Ph.D. (Econ.)

President and CEO of Sampo plc 2001–2009. Chairman of the Board of Mandatum Bank plc 1998–2000, CEO and Vice Chairman of the Board of Mandatum & Co Ltd 1992–1997 and Member of the Executive Committee and Executive Vice President of the Union Bank of Finland 1985–1992. Prior to 1985, Professor of Economics.

Chairman of the Board of Sampo plc, Nordea Bank AB (publ) and Hanken School of Economics.



Berndt Brunow

Deputy Chairman Member since 2002, Deputy Chairman since 2005 Chairman of the Remuneration Committee Independent of the Company and significant shareholders

Born 1950 B.Sc. (Econ.)

President and CEO of Oy Karl Fazer Ab 2002–2007. President and CEO of Sanitec Corporation 2000–2002. Over 20 years of experience in executive positions at Finnpap and UPM-Kymmene Corporation.

Chairman of the Board of Lemminkäinen Corporation and of Oy Karl Fazer Ab. Board member of Hartwall Capital Oy Ab.





Matti Alahuhta

Member since 2008 Member of the Nomination and Governance Committee Independent of the Company and significant shareholders

Born 1952 D.Sc. (Eng.)

President and CEO of KONE Corporation since 2006 and Board member of KONE Corporation since 2003. President of KONE Corporation 2005–2006. Executive Vice President of Nokia Corporation 2004, President of Nokia Mobile Phones 1998–2003 and President of Nokia Telecommunications 1993–1998.

Chairman of the Board of Outotec Oyj and Aalto University Foundation. Member of the Foundation Board at the International Institute for Management Development (IMD, Switzerland). Vice Chairman of the Board of the Confederation of Finnish Industries (EK).



Piia-Noora Kauppi

Member since 2013 Member of the Audit Committee Independent of the Company and significant shareholders

Born 1975 LL.M.

Managing Director of the Federation of Finnish Financial Services since 2009. Member of the European Parliament and member of various parliamentary committees 1999–2008, Head of the Finnish Delegation in the EPP-ED Group 2004–2008. Legal advisor for the Parliamentary Group of the National Coalition Party Kokoomus 1997–1999.

Board member of Sulava Oy and the Finnish Financial Ombudsman Bureau. Member of the Supervisory Board of Helsinki Deaconess Institute and HSE Foundation. Chairman of the Executive Committee of European Banking Federation.





Wendy E. Lane

Member since 2005 Member of the Audit Committee Independent of the Company and significant shareholders

Born 1951 MBA, Harvard Graduate School of Business Administration

Chairman of the Board of the American investment firm Lane Holdings, Inc. since 1992. Managing Director and Principal at Donaldson, Lufkin & Jenrette Securities Corp. 1981–1992. Banking Associate at Goldman, Sachs & Co. 1977–1980.

Board member of Laboratory Corporation of America and Willis Group Holdings PLC.



Jussi Pesonen

Member since 2007 Independent of significant shareholders, non-independent of the Company

Born 1960 M.Sc. (Eng.)

President and CEO of UPM-Kymmene Corporation since 2004. COO of the Paper Divisions and deputy to the President and CEO 2001–2004. Several management positions in UPM paper divisions 1987–2001.

Chairman of the Board of Ilmarinen Mutual Pension Insurance Company and the Finnish Forest Industries Federation (FFIF). Co-Chairman of the Forest Solutions Group (FSG) in World Business Council for Sustainable Development (WBCSD). Board member of the Confederation of European Paper Industries (CEPI) and East Office of Finnish Industries Oy.





Veli-Matti Reinikkala

Member since 2007 Member of the Remuneration Committee Independent of the Company and significant shareholders

Born 1957 eMBA

President of ABB Process Automation Division, Member of the Group Executive Committee of ABB Ltd since 2006. Business Area Manager for ABB Process Automation 2005. Automation Technologies Division Manager in ABB China 2003–2004. Manager for ABB Drives 1997–2002. CFO of ABB Industry 1994–1996. Before 1994, various positions in paper and packaging companies in Finland.



Kim Wahl

Member since 2012 Member of the Audit Committee Independent of the Company and significant shareholders

Born 1960 MBA, Harvard Graduate School of Business Administration BA, Business Economics (University of San Diego)

Chairman of the Board of the investment firm Stromstangen AS since 2009. Deputy Chairman and Cofounder of the European private equity firm IK Investment Partners 1989–2009. Associate, Corporate Finance, Goldman, Sachs & Co. 1986–1989. Prior to 1986, positions in International Marketing and Financial Analyst at Trade Commission of Norway, Merrill Lynch and Norsk Hydro, Petroleum Division.

Board member of DNB Bank ASA and Intermediate Capital Group plc. Chairman of Voxtra AS and Voxtra Foundation. Adjunct Professor at INSEAD business school.





Ari Puheloinen

New Director Nominee Independent of the Company and significant shareholders

Born 1951 General Staff Officer

Commander of the Finnish Defence Forces since 2009. Chief of Finnish Defence Command 2007–2009. Commander of the Eastern Command 2004–2007. Deputy Chief of Operations of the Finnish Defence Staff 2000–2003. Brigade Commander 1999–2000. Principal Secretary of the Defence Council 1997–1999. Planning Coordinator of the OSCE's High-Level Planning Group in Vienna 1995. Battalion Commander 1993–1995. Assistant Defence Attaché in Moscow 1986–1990.

Chairman of the Finnish Defence Forces' Support Foundation and National Defence Initiative Foundation, Board member of Mannerheim Foundation and Association for the New Children's Hospital 2017.