Proposal on composition of UPM's Board of Directors by the nomination committee

Archive 8.2.2006 0:00 EET

(UPM, Helsinki, February 8, 2006) – UPM's nomination committee proposes to the Annual General Meeting on March 22, 2006 that the number of the members of the Board of Directors be 10 members, and that the Board members: Martti Ahtisaari, Michael Bottenheim, Berndt Brunow, Karl Grotenfelt, Georg Holzhey, Wendy E. Lane, Jorma Ollila, Françoise Sampermans and Vesa Vainio, be re-elected for the new term that will continue until the end of the next Annual General Meeting of shareholders. Additionally, the Nomination Committee proposes that the former General Counsel of Nokia, Ms. Ursula Ranin, LLM, M.Sc. (Econ.), be elected as a new Board member for the same term. Ms. Ranin was employed by Nokia Group within the legal function from 1984 until the end of 2005. Since 1994 she held the position of Vice President and General Counsel and acted also as the secretary of the Board of Directors since 1996.