Proposal on the composition of the Board of Directors of UPM-Kymmene Corporation

Archive 13.3.2001 0:00 EET

The nomination committee set by the UPM-Kymmene Board of Directors will propose to the Annual General Meeting to be held on 22 March, 2001 that two new members will be elected to the Board, Mrs. Donna Kaufman, Canadian lawyer and Mr. Michael Bottenheim, former Managing Director of Lazard Brothers.

The present Chairman of the Board, Mr. Tauno Matomäki and the present members of the Board of Directors, Mr. Matti Kavetvuo, Managing Director of Pohjola Group Insurance Corporation and Mr. Jouko K. Leskinen, former President and CEO of Sampo Group have announced that they are not available in re-election of the Board members.

The nomination committee proposes that otherwise the Board of Directors remains at its present composition, i.e. Mr. Martti Ahtisaari, former President of the Republic of Finland; Mr. Carl H. Amon III, Partner in White & Case law firm; Mr. L.J. Jouhki, Managing Partner of Thom Companies; Mr. Antoon Lenstra, President of Unilever PLC's Business Group Africa and Middle East; Mr. Juha Niemelä, President and CEO of UPM-Kymmene Corporation; Mr. Jorma Ollila, Chairman of the Board and CEO of Nokia Corporation; Mr. Gustaf Serlachius, Chairman of the Gösta Serlachius Fine Arts Foundation and Mr. Vesa Vainio, Chairman of Nordea plc.

The Chairman of the nomination committee set by the UPM-Kymmene Board of Directors was Mr. Vesa Vainio and the members were Mr. Carl H. Amon III, Mr. Matti Kavetvuo, Mr. Jouko K. Leskinen and Mr. Gustaf Serlachius.


UPM-Kymmene Corporation
Corporate Communications
13 March, 2001